Press Room

Ezra Jack Keats Award Marks 35th Anniversary in 2021

Posted: [Date Posted]

EJKF Kicks Off Yearlong Celebration with Variety of Online Resources for Kids and Adults to Honor the Legacy of Ezra Jack Keats Throughout the 2020-21 School Year

June 23, 2020, Brooklyn, NY: The Ezra Jack Keats Award (EJK Award,) sponsored by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation (EJK Foundation) is celebrating its 35 anniversary in 2021. Since its inception, more than 90 exceptional early career authors and illustrators have received Awards and Honors for portraying the multicultural nature of our world, including such renowned bookmakers as Meg Medina, Christian Robinson, Bryan Collier, and Sophie Blackall.

Starting in June 2020, EJK Foundation kicks off a yearlong celebration to reach educators, librarians, home-schoolers, parents, and children by producing a series of EJK Award-themed virtual and in-person activities, guides, and themed book lists. Downloadable toolkits are available on the EJK Foundation website, including guides to conduct read alouds, Mock EJK Awards and EJK Award themed Learnings.

[Download This Press Release (pdf)]

High Resolution Graphics